Students

We admit students to our Doctoral Programme (DPhil) and Masters Programme (MSc). Our Doctoral students are listed below.

Please check our teaching pages if you would like to apply to be a student at the Oxford Internet Institute.

Looking for someone?

Doctoral Students

  •  Ramtin (Rami) Amin

    Ramtin (Rami) Amin

    DPhil student

    Rami Amin is a doctoral candidate at the University of Oxford, focusing on the use of experimental methods to explore political science research questions and themes. His thesis investigates the impact of visibility and transparency on democratic participation and civic behavior.

    Email: ramtin.amin@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Maja Andjelkovic

    Maja Andjelkovic

    DPhil student

    Maja Andjelkovic is an OII DPhil student. She has interests in the potential of entrepreneurship and technology to contribute to economic, environmental and social sustainability.

    Email: maja.andjelkovic@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Florian Bersier

    Florian Bersier

    DPhil student

    Florian Bersier is an OII DPhil student. He has interests in online reputation, online trust and - more generally - information economics and behavioural economics.

    Email: florian.bersier@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Gillian Bolsover

    Gillian Bolsover

    DPhil Student

    Gillian Bolsover is an OII DPhil student. Her thesis will examine the potential of the Internet to change the balance of political power between established power holders and networked individuals in both the US and China.

    Email: gillian.bolsover@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Amanda Clarke

    Amanda Clarke

    DPhil Student

    Amanda Clarke is an OII DPhil student. Her DPhil research examines the tension between emerging models of online government-citizen engagement and the tenets and practices of public sector bureaucracies.

    Email: amanda.clarke@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Elizabeth Dubois

    Elizabeth Dubois

    DPhil student

    Elizabeth Dubois is an OII DPhil student. Her research focuses on the role of personal influence in political communication networks.

    Email: elizabeth.dubois@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Bruce Eric Etling

    Bruce Eric Etling

    DPhil Student

    Bruce Etling's research is focused on the impact of the Internet on politics, political participation, and collective action.

  •  Heather Ford

    Heather Ford

    DPhil Student

    Heather Ford is a DPhil student who studies how Wikipedians write history as it happens. Her research covers online collaboration, conflict, historiography, alternative media, the Arab Spring and intellectual property rights.

  •  Nicolas Friederici

    Nicolas Friederici

    DPhil Student

    Nicolas is an OII DPhil student. His research examines the dynamics of complex innovation ecosystems in developing countries, and in particular the role of technology innovation hubs.

  •  Darja Groselj

    Darja Groselj

    DPhil student

    Darja Groselj is a DPhil student studying the dynamics of information exchange in virtual communities.

    Email: darja.groselj@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Khairunnisa Haji Ibrahim

    Khairunnisa Haji Ibrahim

    DPhil Student

    Khairunnisa is interested in the digital representation of places and how these affect sense of place and place-making activities, the production, management and consumption of user-generated content, crowdsourcing and online mapping.

  •  Scott A. Hale

    Scott A. Hale

    DPhil Student

    Scott A. Hale is an OII DPhil student and Research Assistant. His research examines how social media platform design affects information sharing across language divides, and the effects of information sharing across languages on platforms and users.

    Email: scott.hale@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Michael Hills

    Michael Hills

    DPhil student

    Michael Hills is an OII DPhil student in Information, Communication, and the Social Sciences and a member of Balliol College.

    Email: michael.hills@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Georgi Kantchev

    Georgi Kantchev

    DPhil Student

    Georgi is an OII DPhil student and an award-winning journalist, member of the Chartered Institute of Journalists.

  •  Han-Teng Liao

    Han-Teng Liao

    DPhil student

    Han-Teng Liao is a student of various disciplines whose research aims to reconsider the role of keywords (sociolinguistics) and hyperlinks (webometrics) in shaping groups (governance) as bearers of ideas (political communications).

    Email: han-teng.liao@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Joshua Melville

    Joshua Melville

    DPhil student

    Joshua Melville is a DPhil student at the Oxford Internet Institute. He is interested in several broad themes. Among them: modernity, identity, methodology, social structure, and visual representation.

    Email: joshua.melville@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Tom Nicholls

    Tom Nicholls

    DPhil student

    Tom Nicholls is a DPhil student studying the impact of technology on citizen/government relationships, the Internet's implications for public management and models of electronic public service delivery.

    Email: tom.nicholls@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Roy Nyberg

    Roy Nyberg

    DPhil student

    Roy Nyberg is an OII DPhil student. He has interests in the area of organizational theory and technological innovation.

    Email: roy.nyberg@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Jon Penney

    Jon Penney

    DPhil Student

    Jon Penney is an OII DPhil student. His research interests include public law, intellectual property, and technology law, both separately and where these areas intersect.

    Email: jon.penney@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Vyacheslav W. Polonski

    Vyacheslav W. Polonski

    DPhil student

    Vyacheslav Polonski is a doctoral student at the OII, specialising in network science and the sociology of the Internet. His research focuses on the structural aspects of collective behaviour in online communities.

    Email: vyacheslav.polonski@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Ulrike Rauer

    Ulrike Rauer

    DPhil Student

    Ulrike Rauer is a doctoral student at the Oxford Internet Institute researching the influence of the Internet on healthcare provision and health outcomes.

    Email: ulrike.rauer@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Wybo Wiersma

    Wybo Wiersma

    DPhil student

    Wybo Wiersma is an OII DPhil student.

    Email: wybo.wiersma@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  James Williams

    James Williams

    DPhil student

    James Williams is a doctoral student at the Oxford Internet Institute. He studies the ethical design of persuasive technology.

    Email: james.williams@oii.ox.ac.uk

  •  Ben Zevenbergen

    Ben Zevenbergen

    DPhil Student

    Ben is an OII DPhil student and Research Assistant working on the EU Internet Science project.

    Email: bendert.zevenbergen@oii.ox.ac.uk Tel: +44 (0)1865 612330