The Oxford Internet Institute Awards 2018 began with a public lecture by Lifetime Achievement Award winner, Professor Judy Wajcman, in conversation with OII Deputy Director Dr Victoria Nash. As one of the founding contributors to the field of the social study of science and technology, as well as to studies of gender, work and organisations, Professor Wajcman speaks on how our understanding of gender and technology has (or has not) changed since the publication of her seminal texts in the field in the early 1990’s.

The Oxford Internet Institute Awards celebrates individuals and organisations that have made extraordinary contributions to the development, use or study of the Internet for the public good. As leaders in academia, government, non-profits, and private industry, winners of our Internet and Society Award and Lifetime Achievement Award represent some of the most influential figures in the shaping of today’s Internet and online environment. The Awards embody our core values: a belief in the great public good of a free and open Internet, in the vital importance of innovation, research and exploration, and in the moral significance of hard work and aspiration tempered by a strong social conscience.

About the speakers

  • Professor Judy Wajcman

    London School of Economics and Political Science

    Judy Wajcman is the Anthony Giddens Professor of Sociology. She joined the LSE as Head of the Sociology Department in 2009. She was previously Professor of Sociology in the Research School of Social Sciences at the Australian National University. She has held posts in Cambridge, Edinburgh, Manchester, Sydney, Tokyo, Vienna, Warwick and Zurich. She was formerly a Centennial Professor at the LSE, a Visiting Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford, and a Visiting Professor at the Centre for Women in Business at London Business School. She was President of the Society for Social Studies of Science (2009-2011) and is currently a Visiting Professor at the Oxford Internet Institute. Her work has been translated into Chinese, French, German, Greek, Korean, Japanese, Portuguese, Spanish and Russian.