This closing session of the 2005 Cybersafety Conference invited rapporteurs to summarise some of the key themes and findings of the conference. A panel of respondents was then asked to identify the most productive directions in which policy and practice on Internet security and safety might move ahead and to identify key challenges for the future.

About the speakers

  • Professor William H. Dutton

    Director, Oxford Internet Institute
  • Richard Allan

    Former Liberal Democat MP, OII Visiting Fellow
  • Liz Butterfield

    Director and Founder, Internet Safety Group, New Zealand
  • Peter Coroneos

    Chief Executive of the Internet Industry Association
  • Professor Peter Grabosky

    Regulatory Institutions Network, Australian National University

    Peter Grabosky holds a PhD in Political Science from Northwestern University, and has written extensively on criminal justice and public policy. His general interests are in computer crime, policing, and regulatory failure. Peter is interested specifically in how non-governmental institutions may be harnessed in furtherance of public policy. Peter is a Fellow of the Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia, an Honorary Fellow of the Academy of Experimental Criminology, and was the 2006 winner of the Sellin-Glueck Award of the American Society of Criminology for contributions to comparative and international criminology.

  • Dr Dorothy Zinberg

    Lecturer, Centre for Science and International Affairs, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University

    Dorothy Shore Zinberg is a Lecturer in Public Policy and a Faculty Associate in the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs at the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University. For 10 years a biochemist at Harvard Medical School, she later received a Ph.D in sociology at Harvard. A founding member of the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, she teaches ‘Issues in Science, Technology and Public Policy’ at KSG; and recently has taught ‘Law, Technology, and Society’ at Harvard Law School.