There have been a number of experiments in consulting with the public online. This talk considers how the public regards such opportunities, and some policy options which take into account existing barriers and opportunities.

This is the third workshop for the EC project ‘Breaking barriers to e-government: overcoming obstacles to improving European public services’.





Coffee and Registration


Welcome, introductions and overview by William Dutton and Trond-Arne Undheim


Jerry Fishenden: government the way you want it

A look at how new technologies, the emergence of Web 2.0 and the citizen/consumer as creator enables a whole new model of government services and interactions, with the citizen at their centre


Group discussion


William Dutton and Rebecca Eynon: Top 10 Barriers to eGovernment: perspectives from a survey


Group discussion




Chris Parker: Why eGovernment Programmes and Projects fail: perspectives from practice


Group discussion




Stephen Coleman: Consulting the public online – opportunities, barriers and policy options

There have been a number of experiments in consulting with the public online. This talk will consider how the public regards such opportunities and some policy options which take into account existing barriers and opportunities


Group discussion


Cases of eConsultation in Europe. Discussion led by William Dutton




The concept of Digital Citizen Rights. Discussion of cases led by Helen Margetts


William Dutton and Trond-Arne Undheim: Concluding comments / close of workshop


Drinks reception


Expert group meeting

About the speakers

  • Professor William H. Dutton

    Affiliation: Oxford Internet Institute
  • Professor Helen Margetts

    Affiliation: Oxford Internet Institute
  • Professor Rebecca Eynon

    Affiliation: Oxford Internet Institute
  • Professor Stephen Coleman

    Affiliation: Professor of Political Communication, University of Leeds

    Before taking up his current post as Professor of Political Communication at Leeds University, Stephen Coleman was Cisco Professor in e-Democracy at the Oxford Internet Institute and Senior Research Fellow at Jesus College, Oxford. In recent years he has served as specialist adviser to the House of Commons Information Select Committee inquiry on ICT and public participation in Parliament, policy adviser to the Cabinet Office, a member of the Royal Society committee on public engagement in science, a member of the Puttnam Commission on parliamentary communication with the public and chair of the Electoral Reform Society’s Independent Commission on Alternative Voting Methods. Stephen Coleman works in the following research areas: the adaptation of democratic institutions, processes and cultures to digital interactivity, theories of mediated representation (innovative ways in which representatives and represented exchange views, account for themselves to one other and come to share a common or mutually incomprehensible world), and citizenship and political disengagement.

  • Jerry Fishenden

    Affiliation: Microsoft National Technology Officer for the UK

    Jerry Fishenden is Microsoft UK’s lead technology advisor and spokesman on the value and implications of present and future technological developments – and their impact on public policy. As NTO, Jerry is responsible for helping to develop Microsoft’s vision around the use of IT for transforming the way we learn, live and work. Prior to joining Microsoft Jerry worked in a variety of senior positions in the public sector, including as head of business systems for the UK’s chief financial services regulator in the City of London; as an Officer of the House of Commons, establishing the Parliamentary Data and Video Network at the Houses of Parliament; and as a Director of IT in the National Health Service (NHS). Jerry has been closely involved with the UK’s eGovernment programme since 1997. He has played an active role in helping resolve complex policy aspects relating to user identity management, security, transactional services, open standards and interoperability. He has also been involved in the strategic development of the UK Government Gateway (the UK government’s national solution for user identity and transactional services).

  • Dr Chris Parker

    Affiliation: Gov3

    After a 14 year career as a high-flying civil servant in the UK government, Chris founded his own business – gov3 limited – in September 2004. In the five years previous to this, he had been Deputy e-Envoy to the UK’s Prime Minister, and Chief Operating Officer of the Office of the e-Envoy. In this role, he led the team at the heart of the UK government which developed and delivered one of the world’s most successful strategies to create a Knowledge Society. The strategy successfully moved the UK economy from being one which, in 1999, lagged behind the other major economies in embracing the Internet, to one which is a world leader. After successfully meeting all the stretching targets which had been set by the Prime Minister in 1999, Chris wound up the Office of the e-Envoy in 2004. Along with other senior civil servants from the Office of the e-Envoy, in September 2004 Chris launched gov3 – providing strategic advice and support to Government leaders responsible for driving IT-enabled transformation, within the public sector and across the wider economy

  • Dr Trond-Arne Undheim

    Affiliation: European Commission

    Trond is a National Expert with the DG Information Society and Media. He is the Efficiency and Effectiveness (E&E) lead for the eGovernment Action Plan – responsible for measuring and sharing. Trond manages EC-funded studies and projects on eGovernment barriers, Open Source, Organizational change, and Pan-European services. A Senior Research Fellow at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology and the Project Manager on software policy at the Norwegian Board of Technology, he was a Visiting Fellow at UC Berkeley in California. He has co-founded several start-ups, including a think tank. Undheim obtained his Ph.D. (2002) in Sociology and Technology Studies from the Norwegian University of Science and Technology.

This page was last modified on 15 March 2017