Advisory Board

The Director of the Institute is advised by a distinguished international Advisory Board of persons with expertise or experience relevant to our work. The Board gives guidance on general research directions and assists in fundraising and income generation.

Search people

Members of Advisory Board

  •  Sir Alex Allan KCB

    Sir Alex Allan KCB

    Advisory Board Member

    Sir Alex Allan served as the first UK Government e-Envoy, and is former chair of the Joint Intelligence Committee and Head of Intelligence Assessment, UK Cabinet Office.

  •  David Cleevely CBE FREng FIET

    David Cleevely CBE FREng FIET

    Advisory Board Member

    David Cleevely CBE FREng FIET is the Founding Director of the Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge and Chair of the CSaP Advisory Council.

  •  Mr Charles Conn

    Mr Charles Conn

    Advisory Board Member

    Mr Conn is Warden of Rhodes House, Oxford University and Senior Advisor to the Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation.

  •  Toby Coppel

    Toby Coppel

    Advisory Board Member

    Toby is a Co-Founder and Partner at Mosaic Ventures, an early stage venture capital firm based in London. He has been in investing and operating roles in the internet sector since 1996.

  •  Edwina Dunn DBA, MRS

    Edwina Dunn DBA, MRS

    Advisory Board Member

    Edwina Dunn is the CEO of Starcount and co- founder with her partner Clive Humby, of dunnhumby, the creators of the Tesco Club Card. She is a Non-Executive Director of HMRC and sits on the Digital Economy Council.

  •  Professor William H. Dutton

    Professor William H. Dutton

    Advisory Board Member

    Bill Dutton is the Quello Professor of Media and Information Policy at Michigan State University, where he is Director of the Quello Center. He was the OII’s Founding Director, a Fellow of Balliol College and the first Professor of Internet Studies at Oxford University.

  •  Philip Evans

    Philip Evans

    Advisory Board Member

    Philip Evans serves as Senior Partner and Managing Director with The Boston Consulting Group, Boston. He founded BCG's media and Internet practices, and consults within the financial services, consumer goods, media, and information technology industries.

  •  Professor Roger Goodman

    Professor Roger Goodman

    Advisory Board Member

    Professor Roger Goodman BA (Durham), DPhil (Oxon) is Nissan Professor of Modern Japanese Studies, and Professorial Fellow at St Antony's College.

  •  Dr James Manyika

    Dr James Manyika

    Advisory Board Member

    James Manyika is a Director (senior partner) at McKinsey & Company and one of the leaders of their Global High Tech Media and Telecom Practice based in Silicon Valley. He leads the McKinsey Global Institute, the firm's business and economics research arm.

  •  Rosemary Martin

    Rosemary Martin

    Advisory Board Member

    Rosemary Martin is Vodafone Group General Counsel and Company Secretary.

  •  Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt FREng CEng CPsychol

    Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt FREng CEng CPsychol

    Advisory Board Member

    Professor Nigel Shadbolt is Professor of Artificial Intelligence at Southampton University and Past President of the British Computer Society

  •  Professor Richard Susskind OBE

    Professor Richard Susskind OBE

    Advisory Board Member

    A pioneer in the field of information technology and law, Richard Susskind is IT Adviser to the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, and chairman of the Advisory Board of the Oxford Internet Institute.

  •  Conrad Young

    Conrad Young

    Advisory Board Member

    Conrad Young is the Global Managing Director of Deloitte’s Tax Management Consulting business. He led the tax software business in Deloitte and consults with large multi-national companies on the impact of technology and the internet on their tax compliance and reporting arrangements.