Banner: Safety and Security in a Networked World, Balancing Cyber-Rights and Responsibilities The Oxford Internet Institute University of Oxford

Please click on a speaker for more information or click here to expand the page

  • Richard Allan
  • Yaman Akdeniz
  • Chris Atkinson
  • Claire Balfour
  • Ilene R. Berson
  • Bruno Brunskill
  • Caspar Bowden
  • Robert Bruce
  • Robert Burnett
  • Andreas Busch
  • Liz Butterfield
  • Bob Carlson
  • John Carr
  • Johann Cas
  • Federica Casarosa
  • Jennifer Chandler
  • Maura Conway
  • Peter Coroneos
  • Roger Darlington
  • Julia Davidson
  • William Dutton
  • Lilian Edwards
  • Barbara Endicott-Popovsky
  • Isabelle Falque-Pierrotin
  • Elizabeth France
  • Elizabeth France was appointed as the first Telecommunications Ombudsman on
    1 October 2002. The Ombudsman Service resolves disputes between telecommunications companies, which are members of the scheme, and their customers.

    After reading Politics at UCW Aberystwyth (1968-71) Elizabeth France joined the Home Office as an Administration Trainee. She then served in all the main business areas of that Department.

    She resigned from the Civil Service to take up the post of Data Protection Registrar in September 1994. Appointed for a second term in 1999, she also took on responsibility for Freedom of Information, becoming Information Commissioner in January 2001.

    Maintaining her interest in both Data Protection and Freedom of Information, Elizabeth France was a member of the Commission for the Control of Interpol Files and an independent expert on the Aarhus Convention Compliance Committee until this year.

    She is a member of the General Assembly of the University of Manchester and of the Council of the University of Wales, Aberystwyth.

    Elizabeth France is a Fellow of the Royal Society for Arts, an Honorary Fellow of the Institute of Credit Management and of the Institute for the Management of Information Systems. She has been awarded honorary doctorates by the Universities of De Montfort, Loughborough and Bradford. In July 2003 she was made a Fellow of UW Aberystwyth.

    In June 2002 she was awarded a CBE, for services to data protection.

  • Nathan Gaunt
  • Gordon Gow
  • Peter Grabosky
  • Mark Gracey
  • Rachel Gouin
  • Helen Hardman
  • Ylva Hård af Segerstad
  • Douglas Harré
  • John Hood
  • John Hosking
  • Calvert Jones
  • Susan M. Keith
  • Jay P. Kesan
  • Angeline Khoo
  • Jørgen Kirksæther
  • Tony Krone
  • Eva Lievens
  • Miriam Lips
  • Sonia Livingstone
  • Helen Margetts
  • Elena Martellozzo
  • Ruperto Majuca
  • DK Matai
  • Andrea Matwyshyn
  • John McCarthy
  • Gustavo Mesch
  • Abu Bakar Munir
  • Victoria Nash
  • John Naughton
  • Joe Organ
  • David Parish
  • Mary Rundle
  • Peter Sandford
  • Howard A. Schmidt
  • Shaheen Shariff
  • Limor Shifman
  • Barbara Simons
  • Richard Starnes
  • Richard Swetenham
  • Peter P. Swire
  • Damian Tambini
  • John Taylor
  • Shyam Tekwani
  • Douglas Thomas
  • Philip Virgo
  • Ian Walden
  • Rob Walker
  • Carolyn Walpole
  • Yorick Wilks
  • Andree Wright
  • Dorothy Shore Zinberg
  • Jonathan Zittrain
  • Picture: Cyber Safety Life Ring Eurim Netsafe Watson Institute