Summer Doctoral Programme (SDP) 2010

SDP2010 Oxford: 5 July - 16 July. Accommodation: Lady Margaret Hall. SDP2010 Wiki. OII SDP Flickr Pool.

Summer Doctoral Programme 2010We are delighted to announce that the eighth Oxford Internet Institute (OII) Summer Doctoral Programme (SDP) will be held in Oxford from 5-16 July 2010.

The aim of the programme is to bring together advanced doctoral students engaged in dissertation research relating to the Internet and other ICTs. By sharing their work and learning from leading academics in the field, students can enhance the quality and significance of their thesis research and create a peer network of excellent young researchers.

The 2010 Summer Doctoral Programme will draw substantially upon the OII's research strengths and will involve participation from many of our faculty, together with colleagues from other partner institutions. It will emphasise methodological innovation and good practice in research design, and will expose students to the benefits of discussing their research in a multi-disciplinary teaching environment.

Academic Programme

The well-established format of the SDP course structure will be continued with daily research seminars and discussions led by an international group of leading researchers. All students will be asked to present their research to their peers in informal seminars. The programme will facilitate deep discussion of both substantive and methodological research issues, and help students frame their research questions and direct their research. It will also seek to generate dialogue and debate between students from different disciplinary backgrounds on issues relating to the OII's broad research themes with a view to identifying topics for future collaborative research.



Carolina Aguerre, Carla Bonina, Thorsten Busch, John Cheney-Lippold, Valeries Durieux, Dong Fan, Valerie Fazel, Alison Harvey, Yu-li Patrick Hsieh, Andreas Jungherr, Elizabeth Kirley, Adalbert Konzal, Kiley Larson, Koen Leurs, Jingbo Meng, Sumitra Nair, Joe Jin Phua, Kelly Quinn, Rabindra Ratan, Jaani Riordan, Johnny Ryan, Ronald Schroeter, Tamara Shepherd, Byul Shin, Karen Smith, Clifford Tatum, Katrien Van Cleemput, Jing Zhao


We are grateful for support from all our academic partners: the Annenberg School of Communication, University of Southern California, the Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard University, the Creative Industries Faculty, Queensland University of Technology (QUT), and the i-School, University of Toronto.

  • The Annenberg School for Communication, University of Southern California
  • The Berkman Center for Internet and Society, Harvard Law School
  • Creative Industries Faculty at Queensland University of Technology